228 National Awards will be given for outstanding works in RD schemes

Rural Development Minister Narendra Singh Tomar to present the awards

Ministry of Rural Development implements various flagship programmes –  Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Schemes (MGNREGS) to provide wage employment and asset creation,  Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana – Gramin (PMAY-G) for rural housing, Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY) for rural roads, Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana – National Rural Livelihood Mission (DAY-NRLM) for rural livelihoods, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Grameen Kaushalya Yojana (DDU GKY) for skill development of rural youth, National Rurban Mission (NRuM) etc. – all aimed at poverty alleviation.

To recognize the outstanding works carried out by the States, Districts, Blocks, organizations and Individuals in implementation of various Programmes of the Ministry of Rural Development in 2017-18 and to instill healthy competition among them for better implementation and performance in future, the Ministry of Rural Development is organizing a National Awards Function on 11thSeptember, 2018 to be given by Union Minister for Rural Development, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar.

During the year 2017-18 the number of rural houses constructed is 44.54 lakh, out of which the highest number of PMAY-G houses were constructed in the state of Uttar Pradesh. The state of Madhya Pradesh not only constructed the maximum length of PMGSY roads but also the maximum road length using green technology during the year 2017-18.  West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh are the best performers under the category convergence and livelihood augmentation in MGNREGS during the year 2017-18 while Mizoram State has maximum percentage of work completion against the targeted works.

To promote social harmony, spread awareness about pro-poor initiatives of government, and reach out to poor households to enrol them in 7 flagship progammes – Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana (for LPG connection), Saubhagya Yojana (electricity connection), Ujala Yojana (for distribution of LED bulbs), opening of bank accounts (PM Jan DhanYojana – PMJDY), Pradhan Mantri Suraksha Bima Yojana – PMSBY (life insurance cover), Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana – PMJJBY (for accident cover), and Mission Indra-Dhanush – MI (vaccination of pregnant women and children) – Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (GSA) from 14th April, 2018 to 5th May, 2018 (16,850 villages in 533 districts) and Extended Gram Swaraj Abhiyan (EGSA) from 1st June, 2018 to 15th August, 2018 (48,929 villages in 117 Aspirational Districts plus identified villages / districts from West Bengal and Karnataka which could not be covered under GSA due to Panchayat and Assembly Elections respectively) were organized. Ministry of Rural Development was the Nodal Ministry for both GSA and EGSA and to recognize the efforts of officials of the Ministry of Rural Development and Ministry of Panchayati Raj in the management and implementation of both GSA and EGSA awards would also be presented to them.

In the National Awards function of the Ministry of Rural Development on 11th September, 2018 a total of 228 awards would be presented under different categories to the States, Districts, Blocks, Organizations and Individuals.